Type to search

Music Review

Shaadi No.1

admin January 18, 2018

Producer : Vashu Bhagnani
Director : David Dhawan
Starring : Sanjay Dutt, Fardeen Khan, Zayed Khan, Sharman Joshi, Esha Deol, Ayesha Takiya, Riya Sen, Soha Ali Khan, Aarti Chabaria and VJ Sophie
Music : Anu Malik
Lyrics : Shabbir Ahmed

Slapstick plots, tongue in cheek situations and zippy music, is what characterizes the movies directed by David Dhawan. Vashu Bhagnani’s Shaadi No.1, is yet another quintessential quickie from the effervescent David Dhawan stable, sans his self-proclaimed, Hero No.1, Govinda, but stars a line-up of assorted actors ranging from Sanjay Dutt to Fardeen and Zayed Khan, Sharman Joshi, Esha Deol, Ayesha Takiya, Riya Sen, Soha Ali Khan, Aarti Chabaria and VJ Sophie. Its Anu Malik again after ‘No Entry’, with almost a similar flavor of music spilled over. Lyrically, Shabbir Ahmed single handedly manages to side-splittingly pen, all the six original tracks of the compilation with, after a long time though, absolutely NO REMIXES.

Based on absolute infidelity amongst lovers, the initial track sets the mood for an archetypal David Dhawan-Anu Malik miscellany. ‘Tu ek baar jo haan kehde to pehli wali chhod dunga’, is what Abhijeet says to Anuradha Sriram and gets back the same in return. The track with such an agile tune and uproarious lingo should not really disappoint Anu Maliks fans. Well, only if they listen, laugh, and let go.

A stanch comparison between the TV channels and wives forms the basis of this track that goes ‘Jitne channel TV utne nakhre biwi ke’. Sonu Nigam, Krishna and chorus entertainingly execute this track, as each expression is amusing as ever. However, the tune trounces due to a limited melodious content, and greater emphasis on lyrics.

With ‘God promise dil bola’ the Indian Idol hysteria finally pays off for the runner up Rahul Vaidya, as he bags a nippy duet with the melodious Shreya Ghoshal. Read the credits twice to make sure its not Sonu Nigam, it is indeed Rahul Vaidya, who almost always sounds like his singer idol Sonu Nigam. Coming back to the track, there is not much difference between this one and the previous two, as all three belong to the same genre, but this one scores on melody.

Brace yourself for yet another amusing lyrical that goes ‘Hello Madam, I am your Adam’ that once again has Rahul Vaidya, this time with yet another Indian Idol finalist Prajakta Shukre. Must say, both kids sound exceptionally professional and like seasoned singers, and this is truer for Prajakta. Quite entertaining and fun-filled, the track is one of the better ones on the album.

Shaan is all smiles along with Sunidhi in ‘Dil nahin toda karte’. The track has some meaningful lyrics (for a change), tunefully conveyed in absolute harmonies, by the youthful vocalization of Shaan and Sunidhi.

DJs Aqueel-Sanjeev concludes the album with the title track that goes ‘Aiyashi Aiyashi’. Shaan and the DJ duo sing and rap for the hip-hop dance track that is dedicated to the nocturnal.

While, Dhawan has already hit a double whammy with ‘Mujhse Shaadi Karogi’ (Nadeem Shravan) in 2004 and ‘Maine Pyaar Kyun Kiya’ (Himesh Reshammiya) in 2005, ‘Shaadi No.1’, due to its averaging melodies may, unfortunately not get him a hat trick.

Previous Article
Next Article

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Up